Subscribe to Newsletter

Harald Stein

The Power List 2015

Harald Stein

Harald’s career is marked by an impressive series of findings, including three new types of lymphoma (anaplastic large cell lymphoma, plasmablastic lymphoma, and nodular B cell-rich classical Hodgkin lymphoma), the cellular proliferation marker protein Ki-67, the derivation of histiocytic lymphomas from B cells, and the identification of CD30 as the most characteristic cytokine receptor of Hodgkin lymphoma. He also contributed to the discovery that the dysplastic cells of Hodgkin disease are monoclonal expansions of B cells. Harald’s prizes and honors include the Carlo Erber Award in 1982, the German Cancer Prize in 1998, the Johann Georg Zimmermann Medal in 2005, and the German Cancer Aid Award in 2009. He also co-founded the International Lymphoma Study Group, which generated the World Health Organization lymphoma classification. An emeritus professor of the Charité University Medicine Berlin, Harald is chairman of the Berlin Reference Center for Lymphoma and Hematopathology and director of the Institute for Pathodiagnostik Berlin.

Part of the Power List 2015


Who are the most influential laboratory medicine professionals?
That’s the question we posed to ourselves – and then to you – over two months ago, ahead of open nominations and a painstaking judging process. Here, without further ado, we celebrate the answer.

Go to The Power List 2015

Register to The Pathologist

Register to access our FREE online portfolio, request the magazine in print and manage your preferences.

You will benefit from:
  • Unlimited access to ALL articles
  • News, interviews & opinions from leading industry experts
  • Receive print (and PDF) copies of The Pathologist magazine