Subscribe to Newsletter
Subspecialties Microbiology and immunology

Do You Know? Hepatitis C History

Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton, and Charles M. Rice received the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their discovery of a novel hepatitis virus.

What was the initial name for this virus?

A. Hepatitis C virus
B. Bloodborne non-B hepatitis virus
C. Antigen-negative viral hepatitis
D. Non-A, non-B hepatitis virus

Find out the answer below!

Credit: Bruce Blaus.

Answer: D. Non-A, non-B hepatitis virus

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine was awarded to three physicians credited with discovering the hepatitis C virus, which was initially known as the presumptive cause of “non-A, non-B hepatitis” (1).

Receive content, products, events as well as relevant industry updates from The Pathologist and its sponsors.
Stay up to date with our other newsletters and sponsors information, tailored specifically to the fields you are interested in

When you click “Subscribe” we will email you a link, which you must click to verify the email address above and activate your subscription. If you do not receive this email, please contact us at [email protected].
If you wish to unsubscribe, you can update your preferences at any point.

  1. The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet (2020). Available at:
About the Author
Ivan Damjanov

Professor Emeritus of Pathology at the University of Kansas, Kansas City, USA.

Register to The Pathologist

Register to access our FREE online portfolio, request the magazine in print and manage your preferences.

You will benefit from:
  • Unlimited access to ALL articles
  • News, interviews & opinions from leading industry experts
  • Receive print (and PDF) copies of The Pathologist magazine